Skip to content

Readin’ Rave

September 3, 2008

This is post I write few of. I write a Readin’ Rave when the book I’m currently reading has really got my attention and interest and deserves to be raved about.

Currently that book would be Tears of the Desert: A Memoir of Survival in Darfur by Halima Bashir with Damein Lewis. Normally this wouldn’t be a book I’d chose to read as I stay away from the real life horrors of the day. I don’t watch the news and I only skim headlines in the paper. Usually I feel there is more then enough bad stuff happening around me and I choose not to bring it into my reading world. This book though was sent to me (watch for it in next Mailbox Monday post) by someone only barely familiar with my reading tastes but they got it right and made a wonderful selection.

I started this book yesterday and I’m half way through. I’d be farther along but here I am spreading the word about it. While it has a simple, easy-to-read writing style the message of the story is far from that. Without giving away much of the story Halima leaves her village to become a Doctor. She returns home to provide medical care and finds herself, her family and her community caught up in the war in Darfur.

While I haven’t gotten to truly ugly parts yet I know they’re coming. I now understand the hows and whys behind a war I care nothing about (not the people, the war) in a part of the world far from what I choose to be my every day reality. The suffering of these people is beyond imagination. This book brings home that once again people throughout this universe are very much alike. Just like us they want security, health and happieness for their families. And that only the few are monsters and so very dangerous and deadly to hundred of thousands, if not, millions of us.

I find myself not being able to put this book down. And most likely I’ll be very sad when it ends because I’ll want to know what is happening to those I’ve come to care about if only through words on a sheet of paper.

**********

Are you currently reading something you’d like to rave about? If so leave a comment.

2 Comments
  1. September 3, 2008 6:29 am

    Marcia, this book made me think of Natasha’s (Maw Books Blog) current effort to raise awareness of the genocide in Darfur. It sounds like an important book.

  2. September 4, 2008 10:52 am

    Hi Shana~

    I finished it last night and it is a very good book. I’m stopping by Natasha’s blog today to see what she has going regarding Darfur.

Comments are closed.

