Skip to content

Musing Mondays … ReReading

September 1, 2008

MizB at Should Be Reading hosts Musing Mondays.

This week she asks: Do you ever reread books? Do you have any favorites that you like to reread over and over, maybe once a year? What are they? What do you think you get out of rereading a book? Why do you do it?

I rarely reread books. I’ve never really thought about the “why” before but I guess it would be because there are so many out there I haven’t gotten to yet that rereading takes away from those.

If I do reread a book that usually means it’s pretty special to me. My rereads are few and far between but here they are:

Gone With The Wind ~ I’ve read it twice and loved it both times.

Roots ~ I haven’t actually reread this book yet but I did buy the anniversary edition with the intention of rereading it some day.

The Harry Potter series ~ Because of the length of time between some of these books I reread 1-3 before 4 came out and reread 6 before 7 was published.

That’s the extent of my rereading. What about you ~ do you reread?

3 Comments
  1. September 1, 2008 2:49 pm

    I think the Harry Potter books are a theme with us – I made it a point to reread before the next book came out. Of course that’s ot an issue anymore!

  2. September 1, 2008 7:18 pm

    I re-read Harry Potter, The Chronicles of Narnia, Lord of the Rings, Jane Austen. Actually most of the books I own I have re-read. LOL I re-read Harry Potter over 30 times.

  3. September 2, 2008 10:29 am

    Good morning Swapna and Bluestocking~

    I think rereading books in a series, such as HP, is essential because of the delay between finishing the current one and writing/publishing the next one. I know I blew through the HP books because I just had to know what was going to happen. There were details I missed the first time and picked up on the reread.

Comments are closed.

