Skip to content

August ’08 Reading Roundup

August 31, 2008

August was a bit slow but not by much. I finished 8 books, DNF’d one and got through most of another. The unfinished one falls into September. Here’s the list of books I made it through in August. Also I read 3,061 pages.

  1. Don’t You Forget About Me by Jancee Dunn/Ballantine Books
  2. I, Mona Lisa by Jeanne Kalogridis/F2F BC
  3. The Dowry Bride by Shobhan Bantwal/F2F BC
  4. Hurry Down Sunshine by Michael Greenberg/Authors on the Web
  5. Webs of Power by Darlene Quinn/Booth Media Group
  6. Sweet Mandarin by Helen Tse/Elizabeth
  7. The Four Seasons: A Novel of Vivaldi’s Venice by Laurel Corona/Jennifer
  8. The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff/Random House

Recommended

  • Don’t You Forget About Me by Jancee Dunn/Ballantine Books
  • Webs of Power by Darlene Quinn/Booth Media Group
  • The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff/Random House
  • Average

  • I, Mona Lisa by Jeanne Kalogridis/F2F BC
  • The Dowry Bride by Shobhan Bantwal/F2F BC
  • Hurry Down Sunshine by Michael Greenberg/Authors on the Web
  • Sweet Mandarin by Helen Tse/Elizabeth
  • The Four Seasons: A Novel of Vivaldi’s Venice by Laurel Corona/Jennifer
  • Didn’t Finish

    Stealing Athena by Karen Essex. I read another book by this author, Leonardo’s Swans, and absolutely loved it. This one ~ not so much. Very, very slow and I didn’t feel I’d even gotten to the main point of the story line before I put it down after reading 160 pages. Also I felt I really needed to bone up on my Greek mythology which I know next to nothing bout.

    This month I meet 2 wonderful fellow book bloggers: Elizabeth at As Usual I Need More Bookshelves and Jennifer at The Literate Housewife. Our reading tastes run along such similar genres that we’ve been able to swap books ~ some good, some not so good. Thank you ladies!

    In my next post I’ve decided to track authors that are new-to-me for the month.

    So how was your August? Did the Olympics interrupt your reading?

    3 Comments
    1. September 1, 2008 10:34 am

      Hey, thanks for the shout-out. It has been great getting to know you, and our book tastes are eerily similar. Thanks for all the goodies you have sent (and will be sending!) my way! =)

    2. September 1, 2008 5:17 pm

      I am so glad to have gotten to know you through swapping your blog this month, too! I finished The Seamstress today, so it will be heading your way soon. I liked it better than The Four Seasons by far, but it took me an entire week to read it. I’m not sure if that’s because of the book or because of all that was going on with Emma starting school. I need to munch on that while I’m thinking about my review.

    3. September 2, 2008 10:57 am

      Elizabeth and Jenn~
      It’s so rewarding for me to have friends in the blogging world that share my passion for books and reading as I don’t have that anywhere else in my life. As Elizabeth says our reading tastes are eerily similar. I just love seeing what you both are reading as it usually sparks an “Oh yeah” moment.

      Elizabeth ~ I have The Last Queen and The Lady Elizabeth tagged for you.

      Jenn ~ thank you for The Seamstress. I’m looking forward to getting something I want out of the mailbox.

    Comments are closed.

