Skip to content

Readin’ Rave

August 19, 2008

I started reading The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff yesterday. I got a 113 pages in to it before leaving work last night. Alas the Olympics took up some of my reading time when I got home so I didn’t get any farther though I wanted to dive right back in. I’ve wanted to read this book since it appeared as part of the Early Reviewers program at Librarything. I love this book and haven’t been disappointed yet. It’s set in modern day Utah with a murder mystery in a polygamist marriage yet tied to the late 1800s using actual documented Church history and the memoirs of Anne Eliza the 19th wife of Brigham Young. She left the Church, divorced him and crusaded against polygamy.

I was immediately drawn into the story and captivated by the beliefs and teachings of Joseph Smith and Brigham Young.  Not captivated as in I’m converting, I’m not. Captivated as in I have a hard time believing some of the things I’m reading. Once again let me state the parts of this story relating to the Church and it’s teachings is documented and can be found in Church archives, newspaper articles, and memoirs and not a figment of some writer’s imagination. So far I think the author has portrayed the characters fairly and his isn’t promoting or detracting from this religion. He is simply writing a fictional story based on fact.

I’m reminded daily of this religion as I live in an area that has the largest concentration of Mormons outside of Utah. Needless to say this has piqued my curiosity to some degree. I’ve also read Escape by Carolyn Jessop and highly recommended it.

If you’re looking for a good read this just might be the book for you.

**********

Are you currently reading a book you’d like to rave about? One you think myself and others shouldn’t pass up. If so, leave a comment so that we can check it out.

4 Comments
  1. August 19, 2008 7:16 pm

    I love this post and it reminds me of something I’ve been thinking about doing for quite some time now – dusting off some of my reviews for books I loved that have little or no buzz. For example, The Witch’s Trinity by Erika Mailman was so wonderful and intoxicating, but you never hear anything about it.

    There is a good number of Mormons where I live. I’d never met one until I moved here. I am fascinated about why they believe the things that they believe in. I, too, have wanted to read this book since I saw it on the ER list. I’m definitely going to be looking for it.

  2. August 19, 2008 11:49 pm

    I thought I’d start doing this with books I’m really enjoying and before I post my final impressions. This type of post probably won’t appear on a regular basis only with those books I’m really taken with. I read 100+ pages again at work tonight. It just keeps getting better the deeper into Church history and teachings I get. And I’ve come to tie in between the 1800s and present day.

    The Witch’s Trinity sounds familiar to me now that you’ve mentioned it but I can’t remember where I may have heard about it. Now I’ll have to pay Amazon a visit. 🙂

  3. August 20, 2008 1:13 am

    I have read and heard so many good reviews on The 19th Wife, that I can’t wait to read it. But I’ll have to buy it first which might take some time.

    I ma reading The time traveller’s wife right now. Which is absolutely amazing, but I would really like to rave about Shantaram. Have you ever read it? It’s one of the most interesting books I have ever read. Do read it if you ever get your hands on it.

  4. August 20, 2008 11:09 pm

    Hi Violet~

    Thanks for stopping by and recommending Shantaram. I’ll have to drop by Amazon and check it out.

Comments are closed.

