Skip to content

Mailbox Monday

August 17, 2008

Thank you to everyone who stops by Mailbox Monday. Whether you comment or visit I appreciate your taking the time to drop in.

I thought sure after the last two weeks of my mailbox overflowing with books it wouldn’t reveal any treasures but happily I was wrong. Actually it was a box of books on the doorstep but I’m not splitting hairs over how they got here.

Here’s what I got last week:

The 19th Wife: A Novel by David Ebershoff

The Last Queen by C.W. Gortner

The Pirate’s Daughter by Margaret Cezair Thompson.

A special edition copy of The Eight by Katherine Neville. I received her new book to be released in October, The Fire through the Librarything Early Reviewers program. As I’ve never read The Eight a publishing company contact generously offered to send me this book.

These don’t count but need an honorable mention:

3 additional copies of Don’t You Forget About Me by Jancee Dunn. This is a book I’d listed a couple of Mondays ago. I enjoyed this book and it makes a great beach read. Currently I’m giving these books away over at Up For Grabs. The giveaway is open through tomorrow with the winners announced on Wednesday. You can enter here.

What books did you get last week?

8 Comments
  1. August 17, 2008 1:47 pm

    I got this YA book called Violet in Private by Melissa Walker through a contest. That was exciting!! 🙂
    Sounds like you got a few awesome things. Yay for books in the mail.

    -Lauren

  2. August 17, 2008 8:33 pm

    I just started reading The Last Queen and it’s good so far. It’s what I picked up in exchange for The Four Seasons. 🙂 I hope that we both like it. Most people seem to really love it.

  3. August 18, 2008 7:16 am

    Here’s my post for Mailbox Monday.

    http://thethingsweread.blogspot.com/2008/08/mailbox-monday.html

    I can’t wait to read The 19th Wife. Jen at Devourer of Books did just a great review on it, I had to put it on my list.

  4. Amy permalink
    August 18, 2008 8:50 am

    I read The Pirate’s Daughter as a LT ER selection. I enjoyed it and hope you do as well!

  5. August 18, 2008 9:31 am

    I just got a book called When a Man Loves a Woman by La Connie Taylor-Jones.

  6. August 18, 2008 10:14 am

    Here’s my post for the week!

  7. August 19, 2008 11:07 am

    Lauren~
    I don’t read much, if any, YA fiction though some of it looks really inviting.

    Jennifer~
    I had to make a tough decision between starting The 19th Wife and The Last Queen. The 19th Wife won. 🙂

    Alessandra~
    I”m with Stupid sounds like the perfect beach read for my winter vacation.

    Amy~
    Now that I actually have The Pirate’s Daughter in hand I’ve made it an alternate September selection for my F2F book club. Cheating! 🙂

    Shannon~
    Amazon rates it pretty good. I’m interested to see what you think of this one.

    Wendy~
    Happy birthday!!!
    I struggled with The Namesake and actually didn’t finish it.

Comments are closed.

