Skip to content

Sweet Mandarin: The Courageous True Story of Three Generations of Chinese Women and Their Journey from East to West

August 15, 2008

Sweet Mandarin: The Courageous True Story of Three Generations of Chinese Women and Their Journey from East to West
Helen Tse
Thomas Dunne Books, 2008
288 pages
Non-fiction, Memoir
I swapped this book with fellow blogger Elizabeth at As usual, I need more bookshelves

This was a timely read with the 29th summer Olympic games currently being held in China. And, of course, the attraction for me was the culture. While I found the family’s history, especially the strong, determined women, and cultural background interesting, and at times, distressing I can’t say I’m raving about this book though I did enjoy it. I don’t feel the author’s writing style really does justice to the circumstances that this family, and these women, were subjected to. I guess what I’m trying to convey is the story was “there” but not much more than that. I didn’t really feel drawn into and absorbed by their story. I felt more that I was viewing it as one would walking through a museum and reading the posted information with the associated display. The writing could have used a bit more color maybe? Dramatic wording? For me it fell flat, lacked a certain high interest level.

While not one of my top recommendations for this year if you’re interested in this country’s culture than by all means read this book.

Comments are closed.

