Skip to content

ARC: Webs Of Power

August 13, 2008

Webs of Power
Darlene Quinn
Emerald Book Company, 2008
496 pages
Fiction
Book provided by Booth Media Group

I absolutely loved this book. I was hooked from the first page to the last. I read half the book in one sitting. Addictive page-turning, scheming, power grabbing, money grubbing, greedy fun. It reminds me of those night time soaps I used to watch in the 80s. Remember Dallas, Dynasty and Falcon Crest? This book has all that and more. Characters you hate, characters you love. Some you want to knock over the head and others you despise and hoot and holler at their downfall.

It’s intellengently written and gives the reader an insider’s look at the back room games involved in leveraged buyouts. The details surrounding leveraged buyouts are interesting and entertaining at the same time. She skillfully weaves a tale of underhanded tactics and white knights. In this instance Ms. Quinn bases her story around the department stores and she knows of what she writes having been part of the industry.

I’m glad she didn’t tell the whole story in Webs of Power because I’m looking forward to spending more time with these characters in her sequel, Twisted Webs.

X-posted: Book Club & ARC Blog

One Comment
  1. August 13, 2008 11:40 am

    lol …I just posted my review today too.

Comments are closed.

