Skip to content

Tuesday Thingers … Favorite bookstore ~ do you have one?

August 12, 2008

Hosted by Marie at The Boston Bibliophile. This week’s topic: Favorite bookstores. What’s your favorite bookstore? Is it an online store or a bricks-and-mortar store? How often do you go book shopping? Is your favorite bookstore (or bookstores) listed as a favorite in LT? Do you attend events at local bookstores? Do you use LT to find events?

Amazon owns me lock, stock and barrel. I never buy new and only buy quality used trade sized paper books when not reading on my Kindle. After moving to the Boise area almost 13 years ago my book buying habits were forced to change due to lack of any really good used book stores. So before I get roasted by fellow bloggers who may live in this area let me state my case, woeful though it may be.

Yes I moved here from another state, one directly to West and not that Southern coastal state that brings up harsh feelings and makes you think of astronomically high housing prices. I’m originally from Washington state and was used to more a metropolitan environment though I absolutely and thoroughly love my adopted home state. Upon first moving here I cried and carried on over the fact that there wasn’t a single Half Price Books to be found with miles and miles, hundreds of miles of my new home. I’m in love with Half Price Books. According to my spouse it’s one of reasons we moved (LOL) as I could spend hours and many, many $$$$ in this mecca to used books. When we drive back to visit family we are required to stop so that I can get my fix.

The Boise area has Hastings. While I enjoy browsing at Hastings and spend time there to me it just isn’t on par in the used book selection as Half Price Books but then that isn’t their main goal. We do have a few used book stores and their stock is typical of what one would find in a used book store that carries mainly mass market paperbacks. We do have a Borders and a Barnes and Noble, note the singular for each. I really only go to Barnes and Noble to curl up in big, comfy chairs and look at magazines.

The last time I looked at Local on LT for my area not a single event was listed and I can’t say this surprises me. It is what is it. I’ve found since moving here that other area activities occupy residents and reading doesn’t rank high on anyone’s list. I feel this is backed up by the local library system. I could be wrong but when the local library system, of the state’s capitol city, has only one downtown branch and no community facilities that must tell you something. The other local cities in the area have one branch each and the voters in this area continue to veto library bonds.

So Amazon it is!

5 Comments
  1. August 12, 2008 2:17 pm

    Wow I feel for you. I work in Philly so there are new and used bookshops every where. I have an Amazon store on my site since you like Amazon. I’m in the process of putting my entire library on it.

    Wow I just can’t imagine not having all these shops to choose from.

  2. kegsoccer permalink
    August 12, 2008 7:11 pm

    I love the atmosphere of B&N although I don’t really go there a lot. Those chairs really are amazingly comfy 🙂

  3. August 12, 2008 7:52 pm

    If I ever move away from my Half Price Books I will go into withdrawal – seriously. My family makes it part of their visits to me, too. =)

  4. August 12, 2008 9:21 pm

    I’m going to have to check out a Half Price Books when I find one. So many people seem to like them. There are no LT events in my neck of the woods either. Oh well…

  5. August 13, 2008 11:52 am

    Thank you to everyone who stopped by to visit my Tuesday Thingers post.

    Bluestocking~
    At times I do miss living in the “big city” but I don’t miss my 3 hour commute or the traffic! If giving up plenty of book stores was the price I had to pay then so be it ~ there’s always Amazon. 🙂

    Kathleen~
    I need those big comfy chairs in my house but then I’d never get to sit in them as they’d become thrones for the feline lords and ladies of the Larsen household. Sharing is not a concept they care to take part in.

    Elizabeth~
    Every time I visit a Half Price Books the withdrawal process starts over. I’ve been begging them through comment cards to open a store in the Boise area. They most likely read ’em and laugh.

    Jennifer~
    You’ll have to venture beyond the East Coast to find one. Mid-west and points beyond.

Comments are closed.

