Skip to content

Mailbox Monday

August 11, 2008

Welcome to Mailbox Monday. It rained books in my house last week. I probably got my whole August and most of my September allotment in one week. My lucky number was 7! So here they are:

Hurry Down Sunshine by Michael Greenberg. I’m done with this one already. If you’d like to read it leave me a comment with contact info and I’ll draw a winning name this Friday.

Webs of Power by Darlene Quinn. I’m currently reading this one. Remember watching night time soaps such as Dallas or Falcon Crest? That’s what this book reminds me of. I’m absolutely addicted to this story and after picking it up today I’m almost 1/2 way through and loving every page. I understand the author is already working on a sequel and I say “sign me up.” I’m really thinking about giving this one away so someone else can enjoy it. Stop by next the Mailbox next Monday for an update.

Resistance by Anges Humbert

Acedia & Me: A Marriage, Monks, and a Writer’s Life by Kathleen Norris

The Fire by Katherine Neville

and last but most certainly not least I got 2 from fellow blogger Jennifer at The Literate Housewife Review. I was only expecting one and she included another that I’d expressed an interest in reading. Thanks Jenn!

The Four Seasons: A Novel of Vivaldi’s Venice by Laurel Corona

And the unexpected: Sweetsmoke by David Fuller. I love reading about the Civil War era so I can’t wait to dive into this one.

So what was in your mailbox last week?

10 Comments
  1. August 11, 2008 6:30 am

    I am sorry if you get this a couple of times. I am trying out a new user name for word press. I trying to figure out why I always seem to go into the spam filter. If you like you can delete my first two post if they came through. Sorry

    I am also reading Webs of Power.

    http://confuzzledbooks.blogspot.com/2008/08/mailbox-monday_11.html

  2. August 11, 2008 8:44 am

    I’ve requested Resistance as well – but it hasn’t shown up yet (although I did get an email saying it was coming!). My Mailbox Monday post today is here.

  3. August 11, 2008 8:56 am

    Mine’s up here!
    Thanks for hosting this again Marcia!

  4. August 11, 2008 8:57 am

    p.s. I got Acedia & Me also – I’m thrilled! Kathleen Norris is one of my favorites. Hope you enjoy it!

  5. August 11, 2008 9:42 am

    Hurry Down Sunshine sounds like an interesting read. How do you get so many books every week? I’m amazed. I love reading your Monday postings to find out what you get.

  6. August 11, 2008 7:57 pm

    I hope that you enjoy your books! I’m looking forward to reading your reviews!

  7. August 11, 2008 8:18 pm

    Oh, definitely enter me for Hurry Down Sunshine. It sounds like something that I would normally read.
    Contact info: lauren51990 at aol dot com
    or my blog
    http://www.shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com

    I have not gotten any books this week…or last week, but I’m trying to cut down and some books, because I was getting quite a few for awhile to review or something.

    Lauren

  8. August 12, 2008 1:07 pm

    Happy Tuesday~

    Thank you to everyone who stopped by Mailbox Monday yesterday. It was a big day for the mailbox with over 70+ hits to this post. I love seeing what my fellow book bloggers are getting in the mail.

    Alessandra ~ I noticed you’re reading Silver Salts which I added to my amazon wishlist last week after you listed it. How is it ~ good, bad or just OK?

    Shannon ~ I see we both got Webs of Power and are reading it right now. I’m absolutely loving it. It drew me right in. I’ll be interested to get your take on it.

    Wendy ~ I see you got a Sharon Kay Penman book. As a reader of historical fiction myself I see her name a lot but still haven’t read anything she’s written. I seem to get sidetracked by other authors.

    Elizabeth ~ I thought my mailbox runnth over last weeek but looking at the pictures not nearly as much as yours. You have one I want ~ The Necklace. I’ll trade Amazon book $$$. You know how to contact me. 🙂

    Bree ~ the # of books I’ve gotten in the last 2 weeks is very unusual. I usually get none. It just happened that they all started arriving at the same time. I spend time prowling at Shelf Awareness and reading the banner ads. P.s. ~ you’re entered in the drawing.

    Jennifer ~ I’m so excited to have those books. Now it’s matter of where to put them in the TRB pile. 🙂

    Lauren ~ thanks for stopping by. You’re entered in the drawing.

  9. Cindi permalink
    August 12, 2008 11:20 pm

    Hello, I suffer from anxiety/depression and I would love to read this book about this character’s mental illness. Please enter me in your drawing. I appreciate it! Thanks, Cindi

Comments are closed.

