Skip to content

F2F BC: I, Mona Lisa

August 6, 2008

I, Mona Lisa
Jeanne Kalogridis
St. Martin’s Griffin, 2006
544 pages
August ’08 main selection

My impression: I struggled with this book. After glancing at the “stars” at Amazon I appear to be very much in the minority as to my impressions. For the most part I found this book slow. At times the story gears up to take off and then falls back into sameness. I never really got drawn into this story and found myself reading it in spurts over 3 days. It didn’t hold my attention for long periods of time, not a story I found myself getting lost in. While I did find Lisa’s family history and background interesting I didn’t find her personal life all that absorbing. My initial draw to the book was the historical background surrounding the Mona Lisa painting and there I wasn’t disappointed.

I could have passed this one by not felt like I’d missed much. On my reading list for the year it falls in the so-so to recommended category.

X-posted: Book Club & ARC Blog

Comments are closed.

