Skip to content

Reading Journal: Trace Evidence and Someone To Watch Over Me

July 31, 2008


Trace Evidence
Elizabeth Becka
Hyperion, 2007
352 pages
Police procedural/suspense
 
My impression: I enjoy police procedural/suspense stories and I thought this one was right up there. It kept me turning pages until the end. I didn’t make the connection as to who the killer was until it was revealed in the plot line. I was first introduced to this author through another book of hers, Takeover which she wrote under the name Lisa Black. I received Takeover through the Early Reviewers group at Librarything. While I liked both books I thought this one was the better of the two. She has a second book, Unknown Means featuring the same lead character, Forensic scientist Evelyn James of the Cleveland Medical Examiner’s office, which I intend to read.

 


Someone To Watch Over Me
Lisa Kleypas
Avon, 1999
384 pages
Historical, Romance, Bodice Ripper
My impression: This is guilty pleasure reading for me. I had just finished one of the best books I’ve read this year, The Soloist: A Lost Dream, an Unlikely Friendship, and the Redemptive Power of Music by Steve Lopez (which I highly recommend) and I needed something that was going to provide an escape ~ it served it’s purpose.

Comments are closed.

