Skip to content

A fork in the road, a new path

July 31, 2008

So, now I’ve come to a fork in the road, possibly a new path to follow. I originally set up a wordpress account to be able to comment on fellow book bloggers blogs. Then I got to thinking to that wordpress has some features I like that blogger doesn’t but I’ve invested literally hours of precious reading time setting up the original Printed Page. Now what am I to do ~ switch, use both, stick with what I know? Can anyone say dilemma?

Now this site will never be as fancy as my blogger site but maybe I don’t want it to be.  And, it is a work in progress. All the little details that went into the blogger site need to some how be transferred or translated to here. I know there is a feature to convert blogs but I’m thinking for now maybe I’ll tinker on my own.

I had thought about using this as a place to blog just about vitrual/online book groups I’m starting to become involved in because of another wordpress template I found and love but decided I wanted a bit more if I was going to spend time here. The one I really love doesn’t allow for pages and that is a big selling point for me with wordpress.

You’ll also notice that I posted my July Book Blowout wrap up post here.

5 Comments
  1. July 31, 2008 1:35 pm

    One nice thing about WP is that you can do backups and pages. I couldn’t find either of those features at Blogger when I was looking around for blog hosting.

    Even if you don’t switch, you could backup your blogger posts here–stuff does happen (as I found out earlier this month when my site was eaten by a template).

    I’m not sure why your WP site will never be as “fancy” as your Blogger one. What can you do there that you can’t do here?

  2. July 31, 2008 2:00 pm

    Hi Ann~

    I have may have “worded” that incorrectly. It may be a matter of figuring it out which doesn’t always come easy for an non-techie like me. Tinkering is most of the fun anyway.

  3. July 31, 2008 10:03 pm

    Tinkering is fun to a point. I had a template eat my site, so be careful when you tinker (not as likely to happen on a wp.com blog as it is on a wp.org blog). 🙂

  4. August 1, 2008 6:15 pm

    I fell in love with WP when I discovered you could add multiple pages (and have tabs at the top). It took me quite a bit of “tinkering” to get the hang of adding pictures and such, but I finally feel as “comfortable” with WP as I did with Blogger.

    I still blog on both, but more so on WP now. 😉

    Your new blog looks good, so far! 🙂

  5. August 2, 2008 10:41 am

    Hi MizB ~

    WP is wonderful so far. I find doing most everything so much smoother than over at Blogger. And I don’t find myself wanting to tinker with my templates like I did over there.

    Thank you for the nice words about my new blog.

Comments are closed.

